North Carolina Sustainable Energy Association Announces 2018 Member Award Winners

Contact: Jordan Jones

RALEIGH, N.C., December 17, 2018 – North Carolina Sustainable Energy Association (NCSEA) today announced the winners of six prestigious awards. The members who received these awards were selected from among almost 400 NCSEA members for their distinguished service for each of the following categories: Clean Energy Innovator; Dedicated Service to NCSEA Board of Directors; Individual Energy Leader; Business Leadership in Clean Energy; Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Champion; and Community Initiative Champion.

“It’s never easy to select winners because we value the participation of each of our members. Without their support we simply wouldn’t be able to continue the important work we do together. We are proud to present awards to six of our members who made especially outstanding contributions to our clean energy future this year. Each of these award winners demonstrate excellence in their field and are integral to the continued growth of our mission to ensure that clean energy is affordable, accessible, and reliable for all North Carolinians,” commented Mike Davis, Director of Membership for NCSEA.

Eagle Solar and Light, winner of the Clean Energy Innovator Award: The Clean Energy Innovator Award is given to a member whose innovative product or business model has helped change the face of clean energy in North Carolina. Eagle Solar and Light is the recipient of this year’s award. Led by Regional Director Scott Alexander, Eagle Solar and Light trailblazed their way through the process to become the first licensed solar lessor in the state. Their hard work paved the way for others to participate in the Solar Leasing Program and expanded the options available to North Carolinians as they consider adopting clean energy in their homes and businesses.

Cyrus Bhedwar, winner of the Dedicated Service to NCSEA Board of Directors Award: The Dedicated Service to NCSEA Board of Directors Award is given to a member who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to NCSEA through service on the Board of Directors. This year’s award is given to Cyrus Bhedwar, Treasurer of NCSEA’s Board of Directors and Policy Director for Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance. Cyrus has served on the NCSEA Board since 2017.

Brad Ives, winner of the Individual Energy Leader Award: The Individual Energy Leader Award is given to an individual who’s helped advance clean energy in our state through their personal commitment and leadership. This year’s winner is Brad Ives, the Associate Vice Chancellor for Campus Enterprises and Chief Sustainability Officer at University of North Carolina. Brad is recognized for his excellent work in helping to launch the UNC Collaboratory, his leadership on the North Carolina energy storage study and his commitment to ensuring that the proposed Green Source Advantage program eventually becomes a success for all participants.

Fifth Third Bank, winner of the Business Leadership in Clean Energy Award: The Business Leadership in Clean Energy Award is given to an NCSEA business member who has made a lasting positive impact on North Carolina’s clean energy economy. This year, the recipient of this award is Fifth Third Bank and the head of their Renewable Energy Finance Group, Eric Cohen. In March, Fifth Third signed a Power Purchase Agreement for an 80MW solar project in North Carolina that will allow the bank to achieve its 100% renewable energy goal through a single project and four years ahead of schedule.

DeAndrea Salvador, winner of the Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award: The Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award is awarded to a member whose outstanding achievements have enhanced opportunities for people of diverse cultures, backgrounds, and experiences. DeAndrea Salvador, incoming NCSEA Board Member and CEO of Renewable Energy Transition Initiative, is this year’s award recipient. DeAndrea’s work on the “Smart Homes Kick Start” project has reduced the burden of high utility bills in Charlotte’s North End District using weatherization, training, and smart technology.

EEtility, winner of the Community Initiative Champion Award: The Community Initiative Champion Award is given to an NCSEA member whose work has had a transformative impact toward the goal of providing clean, affordable energy to all North Carolinians. Tammy Agard, President and Co-founder of EEtility and Johnnie LaCaze, Partner at EEtility, are the recipients of this year’s award. EEtility has implemented an innovative program with utilities in North Carolina that allows utility customers to finance energy efficiency upgrades on their power bills—unlocking access to much needed energy efficiency services for underserved communities in North Carolina.

NCSEA extends our congratulations and sincerest thanks to our members and the 2018 award winners.


About North Carolina Sustainable Energy Association

North Carolina Sustainable Energy Association (NCSEA) is the leading 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that drives public policy and market development for clean energy. Our work enables clean energy jobs, economic opportunities, and affordable energy options for North Carolinians. Learn more about NCSEA, our mission, and vision at

Leave a Comment